warmlove's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Regina George's in Hipster Clothing

Pretentious. It's a funny word. Using it in itself seems to define it's existence. My new job is ticking all the boxes that the Under-Water one did not even acknowledge. But I am seeing a subset of Pretentious, hipster Mean Girls. Not enough of time was spent with them before for me to not see through the perhaps shallow friendships and the weak, drunken-drugged bonds formed with their companions on the long nights chasing something only to be let down.
The back-handed compliments stabbing into my side. "You are so nice...people must take advantage", the mocking of my lack of awareness of 'famous' Glastonbury performance artist, my lack of small talk about the up to the minute social injustice. They swill their red wine and smoke their oh-so-trendy rollies and accept no humour other than their own boldly demonstrated jokes and mimickery. Perhaps too wrapped up with their own lives they don't notice the value of what is said outside of that bubble.

Yes, we want to be actors who act, BUT it is a luxury and not to be expected and moaned about if we are working in a bar to make our money. That is fucking life and it's insulting to every bar tender or waitress out there who can say this is my job and no I don't do anything else. If we don't have acting jobs that is what we are and there is nothing wrong with it.


I prefer to talk to the 'regular bar stool man in his sixties' or the Manc security guy cos they are not swimming around in the treacle of 'I'm an artist, daaaarling' and they see through all the bullshit!!!!

2:12 a.m. - 2015-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ann-frank
strawberrri
random-ditto
vinylgirl
gutterballs
andrew