warmlove's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MAKE POVERTY HISTORY! CHEAPER DRUGS!

*That's what I do at weekends/ I can't talk and I can't walk/But I know where I'm going to go/I'm going watch my money go *

I LOVE Manchester! And even more, I LOVE The Manchester School of Theatre, Drama school. Had my audition on Tuesday. Up at 5 shudder, hopped on the train up and we were in by 10am. We were split into groups and hearded up to little studios. Our guy was a serious Manchunian with salt and pepper head of hair who marched us in and straight away, (no pleasantaries or nuffin!)got the first person up to perform. He did the annoying thing of stopping everyone, bar one guy (who asked if he could quickly look over his speech before starting!! Luckily for him the guy didn't rip his head off for that ridiculous request..maybe it was his first even audition so he didn't know that that was a definate no-no) half-way through the 2nd speech (modern) and asking us to skip to our third speech. My speech, I think really relies on the contrast between the start and then revelation at the end (they say that a speech with a journey and turning point of change is what they want, usually). Anyway, I have no idea how i did, the guy gave NOTHING away. Then we had a talk about the course. This was a first for any school I'd auditioned at, for them to say what and how they teach and explain exactly what you do on a day to day basis. My GOD! It sounds fucking amazing. They do a summer tour of a Shakespeare play to schools around the country, Checkov play, acrobatics, a personal study of a subject related to acting..ie a study of aging in a person and how that is researched for performance, choral singing, Theatre Complicite thing, amazing guest visitors and speakers and Directors, story telling: a performance where every single person in the school gets up and tells a five-minute (embellished) story from their life, a showcase in Manchester and Soho theatre in London etc..And loadsa stuff I cant remember now. I was just sat their listening getting soooooooooooooooo excited about this stuff. I want more than ANYTHING to get to go to this amazing place and learn and experience all this fantabulous, mouth-wateringly-exciting stuff!
Saw Blaire from Edinburgh their in the lobby as I was sat, literally numb with fear, before going in. Then after, due to fantastic life scheduling on both our parts in our sparkling, spangling lives (heheh)..I met up with Sparkles..well, she was 2 hours late but I sat in the cold Northern sun for a bit then spent a small fortune on Starbucks food and coffee trying to warm up. We basically knattered and drank for a good 6 hours, and reminised about all the lovely cities we have bopped around together! We ended up in a lil pub right by the Manc answer to the Millenium eye. We sat chatting away, and ended up befriending the guy at the next table who it turned out (looked just like that round-faced-crooning X-Factor loser from the year Leona Lewis won, Ray something) was 18..looked thirty and proceeded to spin us an intruiging tale of his undying, stomach-churningly powerfully deep love for his girlfriend. Who, after more snakebite, he revealed, just didn�t love him back in the same way. Anyway, we were 2 sets of shoulders for him to metaphorically cry onto and he kindly bought us some drinks. We moved inside when it got cold and got chatting to some actor blokes inside who left quite abruptly. The Ray-Lovesick guy left to go catch his train but then 10 minutes later he came back saying that he�d had such a great tim meeting and chatting to us that he couldnt leave without a way to ever contact us again. So I nudged Sparkles to give him her number (she is far more local to Manchester). Strange. But sweet I guess, me and Sparkles always seem to meet interesting men when were out together! I almost missed the last train back to London though..I tipsily assumed that the Liverpool St. labelled train would take me to Liverpool Street Station, London. Alas, no, abbreviations can be easily misconstrued after ingestion of yummy couloured wines. I got onto the last Euston bound train safe and sound. I ended up sat accross from two of the actors from the pub on their way back to London. After ten minutes of eavesdropping in on their typically thespian conversation and smiling to myself: �We were just shit in their. And they looked at us and they could tell that we were blagging it mate, totally blagging it. But you dont want to act, you wanna do stand-up comedy...it dont matter then� I checked to see if they were the guys from the pub. They were lovely..chucking me a can of Red Stripe and quizzing me on how my audition went....they game good Drama school-related advice, they both went to East 15 (of what I tipsily remember!). The one who did stand-up I now realize, I recognize from gigs or compering or something at C Venues...Oh, and I sent a semi-drunken (proof of that state was in the grammar and lack of wit!) text to Irish, which isn�t a big deal, whatever..but I did bore the guys on the train of the story behind it. At least I�m not getting blanked but if he aint asking you out again then thats that. It�s exhausting finding men..I must burn alot of calories doing it..THATS why girls settling into �secure� new relationships put on weight!

At class each Monday I have currently attempted and failed pretty miserably at a blue-collar Australian accent and a rural Mississippi accent in two scenes but I have not give up. I CAN DO ACCENTS!!!!!! I will not be a self-fulfilling prophecy! The singing part, well that�s what it is, but I�m sure dialects can be mastered if I work my arse off. I need to do that. oooh, but a girl from class, who had been told that she hadn�t got into Mountview...out-of-the-blue recieved an email from the head of the schol saying that he believed that they had made a mistake not offering her a place and that they now, if it wasn�t too late, they wanted to offer her a place! Wow. What an amazing feeling that must have beeen! Wow! I�m happy for anyone that happens to, she really deserved that.
x

12:10 a.m. - 2010-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

strawberrri
andrew
ann-frank
gutterballs
vinylgirl
random-ditto