warmlove's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No kissing please, were Bollywoodian

#It dont matter to me cos all I wanted to be/was a million miles from here/somewhere more familiar#

Bollywood is where I am at the moment. Bollywood, Southall that is..no beautiful, exotic Bombay staying in a lush seven star Indian palace unfortunately. But, ooh, I'm getting ahead of my excited-little self: The Edinburgh festival first!!! It was it's unsuprisingly fabulous self I must say. There was the added element of Sophie phoning me at hour fifteen of my coach journey up there from Ringwood (via bloody Heathrow twice for fucks sake)saying that she'd just missed her flight from Cardiff by two minutes and had a mere �4.50 in her bank account! Oh, sweet Lord, I thought and knew that the only think I could do so both our Edinburghs werent ruined was lend her a hundred quid so she could get the train up there! Mini drama and we both had to do a budget Festival unfortunately (we only got proper drunken on the last night but going to see gritty, serious theatre like Othello at 11.55pm seems to always drain the alcoholy-drunken feeling out of you no matter how much strong whisky and shortbread soup you've had.

Oh, my gosh though...we saw so absolutely fantastic, beautiful, moving, stunning stuff! And some absolute shit, crap awfulness. I wish I could see plays and comedy and shows once a week or something. We bumped into big, gay, camp Mark, (his official title) an actor from 'Diagnosis Superstar' a couple of times, plugging some show that we forgot to go see (oooh, if I didn't mention it before, I'm still amazed at the strangeness that the guy who played 'Street' in one of my absolute favourite CBBC programmes as a 10 year-old 'Out of Tune' was in Diagnosis Superstar! That was so cool when I found out!...whoops, me digress-ionize..)The best thing we saw was a production of 'Trainspotting' based on the book - it blew my mind, it means very little when its described..it has to bee seen but the music was Bloc Party which made it so rough but still emotional and the cast used this climbing frame thing in the middle of the stage to fling themselves around while cting out and telling the story...'Puppetry of the Penis' was a bit of a let down (No..no need to bother)but it was Sophs choice and I had the feeling that it would be a bit of a gimmicky show; trying to shock by having two men stretch and pull and tuck their genitals (good job neither of them were Jewish is all I'll say or they would have struggled to create enough 'puppet shapes' to fill an hour long show!).
There was an ultra-cute 'Romantic Comedy' of a play acted out in a real jazz bar that the audience sat in about two actors and a writer that work in a Jazz bar together. Me and Soph were like: ' AWWWWWWWWWW...awww...awww!' afterwards and the show's dennouement( who needs good spellin', fuck it) lead Sophie to the realisation that she is not in love with her ex from over a year ago! Yeah! Edinburgh sooths the soul, gets you nicely pissed (when you aren't going overdrawn paying for your good friend out the goodness of your (currently burning from too much on-set Bollywood curry EVERY DAMN LUNCHTIME!!)heart) and brings some girls a moment of slightly wine-induced clarity! I had no such realisations..no nice Edinburgh men-boys were met this year tho Soph did keep her eyes peeled for her Hamish McBoner...

Skip forward..I'm at the start of week two of 'A Distant Mirage' it's called ..day one I thought: 'Oh, shit, what have I got myself into..the night before I got off the horribly delayed and bus-fucked-up Edinburgh to London Kings Cross and stumbled to my Granmas for 7pm and I had to be up for 5am for the shoot to get over to the bloody dodge-end of Isleworth and the style of the Indian crew was soo different to the London way I'm used to! The Director looked like a serious, Indian Steven Spielberg-George Lucas kinda thing and he TERRIFIED me at very first..he likes to be a controlling kind of Parental figure to his actors I've noticed..yikes!But it was just a lil culture shock..I'm loving learning about Indian and little snatches of Hindi. We've shot at Heathrow arrivals terminal and Leicester Sq and Piccadily Circus which was ace! Just like a proper film!! Though Central London passers-by are the most bloody annoying people ever, especially on a drunken Friday night..argh! One guy came and stood in front of the camera, 3 inches away from the lens and just STOOD THERE! Staring! The wanker..grrr.
Its all good, I'm chasing up some leads in finding somewhere London-ish to live..kinda..I've got to do it seriously soon... Granma was not happy that I used the washer-drier she forked out hundreds on to..shock, horror wash and dry my clothes in cos its too expensive! I could give her money to cover the little bit extra electricity cost but she always refuses...but still complains...I dont know! I gotta move on out soony-soon.

x

7:54 p.m. - 2003-05-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

vinylgirl
doug
shot-of-tea
random-ditto
strawberrri
gutterballs