warmlove's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Plenty of Jack Daniels in The Union Jack

*Wade in the water*

Weirdest night at work. Started this new pub job a couple of weeks ago. Quite nervous before hand because the horror stories of Wigan pubs being full of all the people who give Wigan it's BNP stronghold status and me being the friendly face of Carlsberg provision!
But it turned out that everyone I'm working with are great so far. The regulars good to chat to, very friendly. Nice, relaxed place to work weekends and hopefully more over Christmas.

Last night it kicked off first with a very drunk baldie man accusing me of shortchanging him by a tenner. I thought I might have so I told him my manager would have to cash up to find out if it was the wrong change given. But at that exact time the big group who had a tab were disputing the amount of drinks 'theres no way 8 of us could have got through 24 pints of guiness!14 glasses of rose..etc'

'well, by your drunken arguing with poor bar staff I'd say yes, yes, you most definately did!' (said my brain)

So baldie man is shouting at me, getting incredibly irate, attacking me because I'm still serving customers while I wait for my manager to deal with the other irate customers, threatening to call the police, as the other group also threaten to call the police! Madness.

Eventually, Baldie man drags his tail to the bar and slurs that his girlfriend is more sober than him and she checked his money - I didn't short change him at all! haha! Love when that happens.

Then, later, I over hear a what I presumed would be an open, London mind (haha) a sixty something cockney start on a rant about 'Niggers' and 'Koons'. I couldn't hear all of what he was saying (didn't sound positive) but one of the chefs from next door whose at the bar, couldn't look at him and was asking if I was okay etc...
Then Mr National Front decides to call me 'brown sugar'. I demanded to know if he thought he was talking to me?! He got awkward and defensive. I informed him that nicknames like that for me were NOT okay. Not long after that he ended up spitting his whole pint out over himself and when he asked for more drinks I told him it was too late and he left. I'm not going to do him favours after I've heard his disgusting views and tried to talk to me like some slave daughter prostitute!

We cleared up at the end and stayed having a couple of drinks. Me, my manager and the chef from next door (who lived downthe road from Granma for 8 months last year - nice. A Wigan person whose lived other places who doesn't support casual racism!). The worst thing was the drinker I'd been talking to most the night was happy to stand there with that stupid bright green t-shirt straining over his cavernous belly, and smile and nod at this guys grim views of humanity. That's alot of people who would do that, I'm sure. We locked up and left and chef guy refused a lift in my managers taxi "I love to walk!" he insisted a little too strongly. We were about to head off our separate ways and he slightly awkwardly asks if he can have my number? After all our general talk all night about how do you know if someone likes you? And taking the piss out of me for (FULLY UNTRUE!) going out to meet the love of my life every time I go out! Not drinking and just stood in the corner waiting to pounce on him when he arrives!Quite sweet though.

Feels great, if not a little concerning that I'm not going to London to work i this holiday - I don't at present have full-time work but I'm saving at least �400 not going back to London and I' going to try and hustle some up with the manager of another place who my current manager knows. I feel that I'm saving myself a HELL of a lot of emotional upheaval, sadness and stress by not going back. I'll be home for 5 days at Christmas, the longest I've had in at least 4 years!! Yaaaay!!!
met up with Mr Andy in Manchester on the night of our School ball that I didn't feel like going to (tensions rising in our year - clashes between some of the more phony, plastic, self-involved individuals and everyone else I like) and his lack of faith in my acting ability is painful, trying to explain that the only time hes ever seen me act he was drunk and hungover and I'd never acted properly until that short performance. I'd love for people to assume I'm brilliant (like Camise does, I'm sure!)everyone seems to not see me as an actor. Maybe I don't have actor hair?
Will remedy that. Very important. ahah
Did a beautiful couple of performances in the last week 1/ was playing ultra liberal mp from Lewisham, gorgeous ethnic head wrap, glasses improvising debating with a BNP leader figure played by Dan Post-Grad (mid 3o's), lots of gravitas!

2/ Played this nutty World Contact Improvisation champion from Cuba..in a unitard, getting carried in on Amey's back, cape with a Cuban flag stitched on it, big shades. Me and Jack Evans (a rival champion from Dublin) then did this piss-take - ridiculous, pretentious, bizarre, funny from everyone's reactions (many in tears)
we played it so serious, but it was so hard not to laugh when I was miming eating a plate of spaghetti and Jack jumped over my head like a springer spaniel, smacking his spine on the floor!! Delicious

x

9:43 a.m. - 2012-12-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ann-frank
strawberrri
random-ditto
vinylgirl
gutterballs
andrew