warmlove's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Toyboy and Cougar or Boyfriend and Girlfriend

*you light up my life like nobody else*

Many on my course, I do believe bop up and down to and sing along at the top of their lungs to that One Direction smash hit (Shudder. You don't know you're beautiful. Shudder) with absolutely NO irony! Too many singers (born after 1991) and no hint of a Musical Theatre department you see...

Things have settled down into a plodding but break-neck speed....This term one has FLOWN by...only 2 weeks of timetabled classes until the 2 week Assessment (again) week then Christmas week.
Had a lovely weekend..no hangovers,got work done, started trying to distribute my Avon catalogues (less said in that, the better...I might have. yes I actually did, gone to 30 or so houses not on my bloody route!!!! Sooo angry with myself!!) spent a mere �8 (not including my �36 hibernation-style big-shop that must last 2 weeks minimum

Theres a weird accent/dialect that all Drama schools in the country teach..RP..It purports (is that a word?) to be a neutral, 'correct' speech that is essential to do most British period dramas, Shakespearean/ Restoration/Oscar Wilde plays...you miss out on so much casting opportunity if you can't do it. The idea is that it is 'Standard English'. Bullshit...everyone knows, by the way you say it and the texts that we work on in it, that it is very posh, Southern, Home counties English. Many of the non-Southerners on the course either assume thats how I talk naturakky, or think that I speak so strange, sliding cockney. My housemate who did a piss take of me in some awful wannabee Ali G accent and said 'Hey, I'm from Jamaica and I'm really tough, yeh man'...can fuck right off. He is one of the most ignorant people I have ever met..and age is no excuse. He comes out with the most uninformed small-minded bull-shit!! I felt that I shouldn't have been all like: "You idiot. How am I Jamaican, I've never even been there. Do I speak anything like that?"..Its kind of denying a part of me or implying that it is a negative thing which would be terrible especially to give that impression to someone as ignorant as him.
I understand Northerners not hearing the niches in Southern accents and that we are not either The Queen posh, or Pat Butcher cockneys...there is much between these things. I do think that if I was a blonde little thing people wouldn't think I'm as well, well posh talking. Nothing wrong with that, but I don't think its accurate. DO people expect me to be a female Ali G, then when I open my mouth their prejudice is confounded?

Anyhoo, the in-breeding continues (minus me). Mr Drunk, Naked Singer also thinks, i have been told, that it's a shame we got together because it's stopped us from developing a friendship.That is so true and i just hope that soon, or some point when more time has past that that will happen, we'll get back on track. I was unimpressed with his attitude for a while but I do just think that he's a bit vunerable so my jokey insults might hurt him more than his to me. I have great relationships with Kate and Monika, but I do, strange as it might sound, miss being close to a friend who is male. I used to get on so much better with blokes, but maybe there's always an element of sexual tension in it and when it's gone it can no longer be a friendship. Any chance at a relationship is over.

How stupid of me to think that you would be more likely to meet men you'd get on great with in Wigan than London!!! if i wasn't sobbing into my leotard then I would thrown back my tension-less, neutral shoulders('yeh right!' scream ALRAs Voice and Movement tutors!) and guffaw loudly. Weirdly enough, and tenuously-linked, the Alra 3rd year student who looked just like band Irish guy who was at my 2nd audition will be up as part of the cast on another show...that'll be interesting, what with the fuss the girls kicked-up about 2 okay looking 3rd year boys from the other show. They say there is a boy drought in Wigan/Alra...wow, boy drought at 19!? Poor souls!! They should have gone to South!The arrogant,aloof men of Clapham, at least there are many of said species.

Joint Birthday party in a coupla weeks (21st,22nd and 27th) Mine, Monikas and Kate S..not in that order I must add..theme is American! I'm going as a West-Side story style Cuban(rather than Puerto Rican)-American (Cuban flag shirt crop top, Carmen-esque make-up, hair flower, huge gold hoops: Racial stereotypes ahoy!) then on the Sunday...a huge Thanksgiving feast!! The idea of sweet potato pie containing orange juice, brandy and topped with marshmallows makes my tummy smile..Kate said last year that they had a chicken cooked inside a duck inside a monster turkey marinated in coca cola or something!yams! Pecan and white chocolate pie! Cranberry mojitos! My god! Bring on The Angina! There goes the 2-4 hours a day sweaty exercise (my bra size is dipping into early alphabet!) body!
x

11:55 p.m. - 2011-11-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ann-frank
strawberrri
random-ditto
vinylgirl
gutterballs
andrew