warmlove's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bestival to Wigan

*Sheeeerry/Sheeerry baby*

Gotta get this down before the crazy circus begins!!

Leaving London was exciting but non-dramatic! It felt so liberating to pack up all my possessions and quit my job and say goodbye to some friends,not all unfortunately .. realising how much I loved them!Driving up to wonderful Wigan in a big, fat rental van was fun..Absie got insured on it too which was great and we had fun, even if the only music she brought was Rihanna 'Loud', Best of Ike and Turner, The Fugees and Jay Z and Kanye West Album...sometimes you need a rock power ballad or some cheesey pop to get you 4 and a half hours up the M4...
Managed to very un gracefully scratch up the side of the shiney new rental van parking in tbe weeny drive of the house. Whoopsie! But we put up my collossal new bed which takes up the whole room but is totally worth it and a million times better than the childs prison bed that was there before.

I spent a lovely week at home with Mum, Dad, Abby and Matthew and Brandon and a new girl my Mum is caring for, a slightly gobby, (in the best possible way) fifteen year old girl. My Mum is amazing and the best Mum on the planet because she spent over 24 hours making me this big, black practice skirt (that is a required purchase, but a bloody expensive one), while at the same time dealing with 2 very demanding 7 and 8 year olds and a depressed, mood-swingy 22 year old daughter having a go a her a couple of times a day.
Then I packed waaaaay too much stuff and set sail to Bestival with Karen and James. I was a little concerned cos I was going with 3 groups of friends who didn't know each other...It took 10 bloody hours to get to the campsite from my house...2 hours in IOW gridlock with the sweetest, most patient, Michael Eavis look-a-like bus driver who had to deal with 17 year olds getting off the bus to be sick or piss in a bush on the side of the road. I gave him two sweet clementines when we finally arrived cos he seemed hungry after his third 2 hour shuttle journey to Bestival. he looked at me like I'd just given him two fifty pound notes!

We finally arrived, shoulders bruised and sore and Roisin, bless her met us and help carry our stuff (well mainly all of my over-packing) over and introduced us to her friends who were so welcoming and lovely! And they told us that, to save our camping spot she had been sat out in the rain in the middle of it to stop people from nicking it!! Hoe gorgeous is that??! I camped with her which was great. Roisin is amazinf because she is the most open minded, honest and non-judgemental person. You can say anything to her..that makes up for her occasional flakiness. Then, later when we went out to explore the Bestival we found Matt and Andy and Mr Winter WOnderland. I love Matt at a festival, he really embraces it and is just a fun, bundle of joy! Probably helped that his girlfriend coulnt come so sold her ticket to Andy. There was only one small downer about Bestival, which was a lot of knackering fun....I dont think I stopped dancing..Public Enemy were awesome and so was Miss Dynamite even though, before, I wouldnt have said that they were my kind of music.The small downer was Mr Winterwonderland. When we arrived Matt joked that it was awkward between me and him cos he didnt/I didn't go to hug so i shook his hand instead. It emmerged that, yes, he had come with this new girlfriend but strangely they spent little time together, not even camping together. So I saw him a lo, with Matt and Andy when the girlfriend wasn't around...he barely said two words to me and he was generally very quiet and didn't seem to be having as much fun as the rest of us/ It started to feel bloody uncomfortable when he was around. So weird because last time, after initial awkwardness, he was a massive flirt with me, even grabbing my hand, locking eyes with me (haha) and singing some Al Green song to me so I felt slightly embarassed. Strange. But my costume went down really, really well...big beehive, 60's very bronzed make-up, lots of blusher gold metallic eyeshadow, big black cat flicks, huge, feathery fake eyelashes, nude lipstick and the seqin shift dress with tassels, gold sandal heels, two Barbie dolls (Mary and the other Supreme whos name I forget) attached to each shoulder. walking through mud in gold heels was surely a sign of maximum commitment...or drunken insanity. On the Friday morning, as i emmerged from my tent I got a phone call from my sister saying that 8 police officers had come round my Granmas' house and put my cousin in handcuffs. The officers were searching through the whole house because they had evidence that he had stolen a flat screen TV from Dixons and fled from police. Fuck. He is so stupid. He has no excuse. He was sent to the 'best' schools and has had free food and his own room in my Granmas house since he was a child. Getting in trouble with drugs and losing a great job that my Auntie got him at her company was all him. He will probably go to prison. I feel most for my Granma and my Auntie, the stress and sadness that this will bring for them. We left Bestival at 2pm, knackered and slaughtered and after the most exciting train journey of my life!!(Southampton to Wolverhampton, Wolverhampton to Wigan..has anyone made that claim before?!) I arrived at bout 11.30 and who should come to meet me ON THE PLATFORM! (noone ever does that for me!!) but my new, lovely housemate Monika! She brought her car up from Weymouth and gave me a lift home where everyone has moved in. It was great, it felt like a ready-made home and everyne is lovely. This week has been induction week so it's been a week of talks and forms and mini classes and loadsa gatherings and mini parties. Everyone has soooo much energy which makes me feel more energetic and enthusiastic but I did notice that a lot of people are loud show-offs who know whole scenes of Disney films which is a little unusual, right? But after day 2 I realized that they weren't unusual..they were eighteen and nineteen years old..Ah! Hah! Of course. But that's fine, I can still get on with them, no-one believes that I'm 26 they say, cos apparently I look their age. But appparently my cynicism gives away my age..such rubbish because at nineteen you should be aware of the world and not be ignorant of stuff. But some of the post-grads are my age so if things get too irritating and teenage I can go talk to them. I am a little scared about classes starting on Monday. It will be fucking tough. maybe even tougher than i anticipated. I want to be good. I want to play a character in a play and have Nathan think I was genuinely outstanding! Not much to aim for, eh? I will do it..Deep breath...and find a Saturday job by next week. C'mawn Swarovski crysatals or Body Shop..Debenhams have vaccancies..shuuuderrr
Wigan is gorgoeous so far..I love how people are so open to stuff...theres not that arsey-ness and red tape you get in London. �1 Bakery is my church!! �2.25 large wine my dinner!!
x

12:36 a.m. - 2011-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ann-frank
strawberrri
random-ditto
vinylgirl
gutterballs
andrew