warmlove's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Opportunity knocks

*so we are history/a shadow covers me/the sky above blazes that only lovers see*

It feels like a strange time to be leaving London.

I know that newspapers, television news and the political system thrives on cultivating a climate where propaganda is used to control opinions and spread and generate fear. Fear is powerful and it makes a lot of people a lot of money as well as allowing those in power to manipulate it along with the accompanying prejudices in order to push their agenda as win 'The game'. Think of all the damning news this has allowed them to cover-up. How did Sean Hoare die? That's conveniently been brushed under the rug, hasn't it.

People mentioning the apparent race of an individual breaking the law or acting violent no longer feels (If it ever did before) purely descriptive.It feels like a point is being made. I think we are slowly sinking backwards with racism in this country, or at least entering a new race-obsessed era where what divides us physically seems to be in hearts and minds.
It breaks my heart that in recent days I'm hearing more segregation talk..'black culture', 'black newspapers, 'black neighbourhoods' as if black equals poverty, a lack of education and a ghettto from mainstream British values. BOLLOCKS. Not just because all races of people were out setting fire to shops, smashing windows and/or /just/ nicking stuff that no-one was stopping them from nicking. ...easiest shop-lifting in the world.This will divide us so much more, in a place where its fine to label certain people chavs and think you're better or different than them for stupid reasons.

We know smashing up buildings, setting fire to them not caring if anyone might be trapped inside is fucking WRONG.So is Banks and politicians squandering money and billionaires and business not paying their taxes. Lets not over-react and lose our heads with talk of 'evil monsters', 'shoot them all, bring in the army!' and 'broken Britain' (not much is broken if ur a millionaire Etonian politican) This happening does not make us any less safe on the streets. I don't feel like anything's changed apart from the grotty mess left behind and sadness of homes and businesses ruined for now.


My cousin boasted on his Blackberry where people should be present to 'riot' (he wasn't there himself getting his hands dirty, he's clever, not stupid)and showing-off about the rolex, trainers and perfumes that had somehow landed in his lap. Then the police send him, one of many hundreds sent I'm sure a message asking for proof that he was not present and involved at any of these crime scenes...

In Camden somebody had added some great graffiti so the big bridge by the lock read 'Amy Winehouse is Camden'.'Stronger than me'on Later with Jools..so, so brilliant and acoustic 'Love is a losing game'. Stunning.


p>

I wanted to slap (lovingly) Lynsey when she announced that I was obsessed and thought that I was a modern-day working-class miner or something. Anything I have said to her on that sticky subject was that it didn't make sense all this class classification...if I make (pre-receptionist itchy suit job) �10-�11,000 a year in a job you don't really even need GCSE's to get and struggle with money and dont eat fancy food or go skiing but because my (married) Mum was a nurse then a teacher and my Dad a lab scientist and do alright for money that puts me in a box. Versus someone who's parents are divorced, (they didn't go to higher education) and they make �40,000 a year being a plumber and go on fancy holidays.
I think it just annoys me when people decide to judge the not that detailed stuff they know about you and attach a sticker to you. I can seem on paper like i firmly belong with that sticky label on me but I think the idea and the classification behind this stuff is BULLSHIT.

I WENT TO WIGAN! I MET MY DRAMA SCHOOL!!!
I was scared that it would be awkward and everyone would be bitchy dolly birds perpetually tweeting about how gorgeously fabulous they are. Despite the fact that I am the oldest person certainly on the 3 year and possible out of all the post-grads, I feel excited that I'm gonna get on great with almost everyone and have so much fun. The 2 days in themselves were just relaxed and it didn't feel like its gonna be awkward getting to know people. I only dislike that Sebastian guy because the 3rd time I ever spoke to him he went "You know, you're jokes AREN'T funny"in his annoying transatlantic International school Hong Kong accent...to just a comment I made that was most definately NOT a joke. And he's 18. Tit.
We went to the world's cheapest Wetherspoons, sat in the sun sipping large rose wine all the sweeter for costing �2.30. Then there was an impromptu mini house party. Me and one of the new post grads, John who's 25 but rips the piss of me and my ages bought me beer for the party cos I couldn't even pay for my cheapy, cheap hotel room cos pay cleared at 1am that night. I liked him a lot, he was very funny and it hit it off with this dude called George who is one of those ditsy, very sociable blonde boys from Bournemouth (a common type)..Mainly I like him cos he started fabulously pointless 'Lets guess ages' game, and after some deep thought guessed that I was twenty and was shocked when I told him my real age.Lovely boy! Quite a few of us(other than some sensible Post-grad girls who seemed a bit aloof on the second day after my little group had been successfully house-hunting and returned to announce available rooms in an our awesome house!) were at the party and me and equally-old John ended up inviting ourselves to sleep on the sofas..it was such a fun night...kitchen rave, disgusting raw jaggermeister out the bottle, everyone taking turns and doing the vocal class tongue-twisters at the top of our lungs in the garden..NOT my idea, but the youngsters are sooo eager! (In bad Brooklyn accent: "Yooou knoooow New Yawk, yooou neeed Neew Yawk, you know you need uniique New Yawk. But does unique New Yawk need you?")
Next day, miraculously not hungover, though not feeling as fresh as I'd have liked...we found an amazingly great house. 1 minute away from the schools official pub (the spoons we'd been at the night before) and 10 minute walk from ALRA. Dark wooden floorboards, GIANT double rooms, most with fireplaces, cosy sitting room, rickety kitchen. Box shower and bath shower essential for all your bathing options (be they rushed morning half-shower..thanks for the laughter of that phrase Abbey.. or decadent bubble bath with glass of Asda Shiraz to melt away the stress of 40+hrs of hardcore classes a week). Despite the opulence and supreme grandeur of the double bed rooms I forced myself to go for the only single room..teeny, tiny but i know i can fit a new 4ft double bed-in and all my bright stuff so just make it into another den of junk, b/w photos and pink hindu puppet(s)/ French mannequin hat stand(s) That's normal, right? Moving in my stuff in 1 week! So, so excited..hoopefully do it as a road trip with Babsie, hopefully catch her in a good mood with good playlist...
My beehive for Diana Ross and the stuck-on Barbie Supremes winged it's way over from ebay land and I just won the matching Go-go boots for 4 quid and I have the elbow gloves...It's gonna be a brilliant start to September, I'll have a relaxing, calm week at home for the first time in forever..the first week off work since 2008 summer-of-dole! Followed by Bestival, which seems to have even more amazing spectaculars this year than when I went before!! Rosie declared that we shall not spend a moment sober. Then the iduction week at Alra..time to settle-in..party on the thursday night.
Noooo idea what kinda clothes I have that I could wear for college..its all dresses too short to bend in, stuff with zips and that..need to find slouchy, comfy stuff that doesn't make me look like an obese Panda. Gotta shop..need leotard, jazz shoes, practice skirt, random black sweat suit for voice (?). I put LOADSA stuff on my Amazon wish list s maybe, sweet maybe some kind wealthy type will decide to buy and send me some copies of Tennesee Williams plays,a short sleeved cotton leotard, 4ft metal bed frame, orthapedic mattress, dictaphone, Uta Hagen, character shoes and some saucy little baggy leopard print baggy leggings, beautiful on I am assured! oooh, and had two incredible nights out with Kat since she returned..now I know what/who I've been missing in London the past 6 months! something didn't feel right..know I know....just as I'm about to leave and also Mr Diaryhacking CornishAndrew and gfriend are back in the country after their 6 month trip, bet I wont she him b4 i move up North, but you never know..I WANT TEARS DAMMMIT!!!!!
x

7:32 p.m. - 2011-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ann-frank
strawberrri
random-ditto
vinylgirl
gutterballs
andrew