warmlove's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Camden Town: Come take a swim through our Loch, full of romantic algae and rusty needles

* I wish my life was a little less seedy/why am I always so greedy...I wish I looked just like Cheryl Tweedy*

It that started out fantastic and full of fresh-air freedom is now pretty depressing in a cringeworthily funny way though. I laugh a bit at being an umemployed, technically with no legal fixed abode, a squatter where the owner knows the squatter exists and wannabe film-whatever I am (to say Wannabe film Director is a joke because if you look at my day to day routine it does nothing to demonstrate someone who wants to have such a skilled, creative and busy-scheduled job). To me I could justify planning to direct moovies for a living if I had a visible, discernable talent or at the very least...directed nursery school kids in stage productions of 'Tom Thumb and Thumbelina' on the weekends between an office job at The Beeb or something!! But I go to the gym, I go to the internet cafe on The High Street to pathetically look for a job of money in the movies to which I could apply, but spend much of that time burning quids on the Myspace and Limewire downloading Happy Tunes (! he ee, I laugh), go to my unpaid internship 3 days a week, which is lovely actually, dont get me wrong I get to sit down, drink tea, eat donut, fill out slightly pointless databases and read loads of great Feature screenplays. I stroll along to my Raindance Directors Foundation night class once a week, off Tottenham Court Road (it was sweet last week, me amd Ellie (think thats her name) tried our hand at post-class mingling down the pub with some really lovely class members, our teacher and his two actor-guinea pig types from the 'Directing Actors in rehearsals' session, was fun, mango crisps 'n all.

I had an awful night out in Camden Town (just to cement the fact that I AM NOT a bloody rude, close minded, materialistic, over-priced, unimaginative Londoner!! I shall call it by its full, tourist name 'Camden Town' from now on...), well the night started out great...Sophie was in town to nick her best friends' ex-boyfriends' ticket to The Lion King so after my 22 minute (nooo commitmnet, that is me!) gym workout in Victoria, I met up with her and her friend/ God sister whos' claim to fame was Graham Norton having spilt hot coffee all over her outside The Gardening Club in Covent Garden at some dirty pub behind G.A.Y. Soph was laughing loud like a duck on helium so much of the wine bottle had gone and she made the 'drinking thinking' decision of us getting a cab upto Camden Town so we could have a night out drinking in fake tourist goth/heroin needle stabbing land. Her friend/God sister is, in my opinion the most non-Christian, Christian I have ever, ever met....she happily gets stoned, she has no problem with Gay people (a positive difference from the archetypal cross-waver actually), she drinks like a fish and (this spoils the end of the story, but..) while I was throwing-up half my body fluids onto cobbled locksides, she was fucking some guy she'd brought out from the club on a picnic table in some dark Camden Town Alley! I said to her at one point, thinking, 'ah, she drinks and sex with anyone is cool in her opinion, that Christian thing Soph mentioned must have been when she was a younger teenager...' So I was like "So, you're not a Christian anymore??' and she deadpanned: 'Yes' like it was obvious. I'm not criticising her but I'm just used to people like Fadeke, Caroline and Naz (although shes a Muslim, but same thing) from work who have such strong: 'You musn't do this as a Christian......relationship with God being the most important thing in their lives....cant wait till I'm married to have loads of sexytime with my husband and for it to be right with God...' Why did I hate Debenhams with that in my ear on a Saturday whilst hung-over??? No, I lie...I briefly considered going to Fadekes Pentecostal church once cos she said it was fun and the girls wore corsets and pretty clothes there...

I digress (better than to digest) (what the fuck did that mean??) I spend so much time talking about other people, criticising my friends' friend who I've only met like twice, that I forget about someone very important, whos skin must be suffering from a pointless life in a toxin filled city...yup, back to toxins..

We were in The Proud Galleries in Camden because apparently thats where all the hot guys of Camden Town are attracted to like flies to sticky yellow paper. �6 cover, walk up the dungeony steps to a huge red, very warm and homely marquee-like space with a big stuffed horse, even bigger bar and a stage for, as we were promised, 4 bitchin' Indie bands to play later on. We sat down, surveying the scene of so trendy it hurt 18 year olds and then late-20 somethings who looked like 18 yr olds because they hadn't left Camden Town since they WERE 18, bangin' music a-throbbin' that I cant remember at all, but I do remember I didn't feel compelled to bop up and down to the beat and pop my fingers so it couldn't have been Wham! of Culture Club... Half an hour in Soph and her friend spotted some guy they declared fit and suggested that I go talk to him on their behalf and get him to come over to our low, Morrocan table. Now, people, my friends know that I am prepared to go up at talk to any stranger anywhere about more or less anything especially if I am dared to..cos its fun(ny) mostly. But this one back-fired pretty majorly!! I sauntered over to one of the million-and-one Kook wannabe guys and just started chatting with him randomly and saying that my two friends (point) thought he was cute or good-looking or some word like that. He seemed interested in who might be checking him out and then he said, in a semi-I'm sorry, shame, I woulda come over to chat if not way: " I'm here with my girlfriend", gesturing to some blonde girl. I was like, 'Aww, that sweet....glancing over at her' ( I couldn't care less if he was there witgh his girlfriend because I was there on someone elses behalf anyway) But the girlfriend looked at me like I was sat straddling her man and Osama Bin Ladin at the same time dressed in pink lingerie... 'EXCUSE ME!!! WHAT IS SHE DOING???WHAT ARE YOU DOING? WHat is she saying to you!!! she said, voice a-raised. Poor Kook boyfriend very rationally and calmly told her exactly what I'd said to him and what he'd said to me (can you say wha toooooooosh?!) and she kinda cat hissed: 'OH! SO WHAT DO YOU EXPECT IS GONNA HAPPEN NOW, HUH??? I was pretty shocked, but kept a easy-going half-smile on my threateningly glossed-lips (!!) I didn't know what was gonna happen...so she told me. 'WELL, THEN I THINK YOU SHOULD GO! GO AWAY, GO BACK OVER THERE, GO ON! GO!!!!' I waved goodbye and trotted back to my table, not as embarrassed as you'd think cos I was laughing...but I learnt to watch out for ladies ....and my stomach cos I threw-up all over my clothes as soon as we left the club, I wallpapered my jeans with chunks and had to stand miserable all the way down the Northern Line...ugh, maybe evil Girlfriend had spiked my drink..cow. It would have been so much better if the girlfriend had suddenly lunged at me with a loaded Boots' Botanics mascara wand. I could have then Kung-fu kicked her upside the head and screamed: "SLAAAG!" at her like a Best Soap Actress award nominee. Then I would have been kicked out by the Camden Town bouncers and THEN vomitted ALL over my clothes! Now that would have been a satisfying ending. I could barely remember rocking-out by the DJ decks to the bands who were playing. A shame, and a waste of �6 for me not to have memories of the music and dancin'. Actually, something that depressed me slightly was the fact that the couple of times I went out with the guy from the New Years train, I was thinking 'oh, its I shame I can't go chat to this guy or that guy because I'm on a date with this guy.' That sounds absolutely awful, I know but that tells me that I'm on a date with the wrong person...therefore I wouldn't want to get into a relationship with them because surely I should enjoy and be excited by their company in the first place and not be looking over their shoulder at someone else!? Or perhaps I find no one enjoyable and exciting once there are no complications or obstacles. They say if we cant have something it makes us want it more. Nah, that is bullshit (again).
Things are awful but I wont complain because other people and animals have REAL problems, y' know
X

7:39 p.m. - 2007-02-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

vinylgirl
doug
shot-of-tea
random-ditto
strawberrri
gutterballs